It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2011, 07:38 PM   #1
(female)

Kavalos1979 HB User
Vyvanse and weight loss

My son has been diagnosed with ADHD and is taking Vyvanse 40mg. My main concern is his starting was nearly 59 pounds, he has been on his Meds for almost 9 months and has lost 10 pounds and some ounces. Does anyone know what I can feed him to help him get his calories and gain pounds??!?!

Old 12-27-2011, 05:21 PM   #2
(male)

addventurous HB Useraddventurous HB Useraddventurous HB Useraddventurous HB User
Re: Vyvanse and weight loss

I have no first-hand experience with this, but I've read about it online in many people taking stimulant meds for ADD. Some even go off the meds because of it. The only thing I can think of would be the weight-gaining protein shakes you get at a store like GNC. This is usually for people wanting to "bulk up" at the gym, so I'm not sure if taking it for the sole purpose of maintaining or gaining weight is a good idea. Have you discussed this with your doctor?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-03-2012, 01:06 AM   #3
(female)

kaytaybicks HB User

I had a lot of trouble eating when I was first prescribed Vyvanse - what ended up working for me was drinking orange juice with a powder supplement in it (I'm allergic to whey protein, so it was some other one) and eating Luna bars. They have them in a ton of flavors, kind of like a lighter clif bar, and a ton of substance without "substance."

I also make sure to eat a solid breakfast (when I don't oversleep), especially something like oatmeal with nuts and fruit, or a PB&banana sandwich to kickstart the day.

Old 01-03-2012, 08:47 AM   #4
(female)

Wootton HB UserWootton HB UserWootton HB UserWootton HB UserWootton HB User