It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

ADD / ADHD Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2012, 12:58 PM   #1
(female)

wilberry228 HB User
decision to medicate or not in high school

Hi,

This is my first time here. We are facing a decision on whether or not to medicate our son, 17 years old. He has the classic textbook symptoms of 'inattentive type' ADHD, which was his diagnosis based on a recent exam. We see a neurologist for another issue, and this would be the doctor who would prescribe meds. He would like to try Vyvanse, if in fact we decide to go this route.

I'm particularly concerned about side effects, specifically tics and other movement disorders, as he has mild hand tremors already. I also don't like the thought of this affecting him long term. And clearly if the side effects were negative, we would stop and cut our losses. I am not in this for massive experimentation. But is it possible that tics and the like could become permanent?

I am torn, as he has "made it this far." However, his grades are not great and he seems to have tremendous difficulty organizing his thoughts, assignments and belongings. What if this medication is the key to his focusing problems, and can bring him from a C student to an A student? (which of course would also mean that perform at this level, he'd need to take the meds forever...?)

Has anyone been through this, medicated or not, and what was the outcome? We have a few tests scheduled this week to make sure he's OK to start the medication, but we aren't deciding until August. The doctor wanted him to have a month or so to get used to it before school starts.

Thanks, and I welcome any input.

Edit: in re-reading, I wanted to add that his performance was better this past academic year, with an annual GPA of just around an 80. So we know he is capable, but he is erratic.

Last edited by wilberry228; 07-14-2012 at 01:07 PM.