It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Pregnant tapering vs cold turkey

Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2016, 01:25 PM   #1
Feelingsilly
(female)

Feelingsilly HB User
Pregnant tapering vs cold turkey

I don't know who to talk to. I have already spoken work OB and physiatrist about my getting off of pain meds and the dependency I have found myself on since I have been on same regimen for over 7 years now.
I have degenerative disc disease and I'm a fitness instructor. I was placed on 2 Lortab and 3 Precocet a day. I never go over my recommended and have quit cold turkey once before.
My 2nd soon had to stay in NICU for being premature and for withdrawals. My 3rd soon had no issues even though I was on same regimen whole pregnancy. For some reason maybe my age, maybe a mother's intuition I feel scared for my fourth and final son.
I'm 20 weeks pregnant and this is week 2 of tapering. I am now down this week to just the Percocets. But I am wondering if I can just go cold turkey as the withdrawals week to week are like starting over again and again.
My doctor thinks I could be okay but worries about the baby and it going through shock and withdrawals in the womb.
The worst thing right now and every week is I feel like when your leg falls asleep and that feeling of when the blood is returning and it tickles so bad. I find myself stretching constantly just to rid myself of that feeling.
I take a soak when it gets too bad.
I know I am not taking as much as everyone else is or was and feel like such a wuss but I just want to know how long this will last and if you think it would be worth just quitting it all or stay tapering?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-21-2016, 08:00 AM   #2
Philster2003
Senior Veteran
(male)

Philster2003 HB User
Re: Pregnant tapering vs cold turkey

Hey feelingsilly:

If your still trying to taper?