It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2003, 07:27 AM   #1

Labattlover HB User
Post New member. Great Site!!!

Hi I came across this site by accident, in a quest to help my ADHD son. What a great site. My addiction is Labatt Blue, and a lot of it! It's getting old, and I'm sick of feeling sick, hung over, and tired. I'm on day 2 of no alcohol. How boring. I was up to about 9 beers a day (often more or sometimes less) and can maybe go 2 days a week without drinking. (of course, not in a row). I've been drinking for about 12 years now (I'm 32). I work in a hospital, and see people on dialysis, and see people that are waiting for liver transplans, and even the hell they go through after the transplant, I've even seen newborns going through alcohol withdrawal. Ironic huh? You think I'd have more sense. I'm tired of hiding beer in my bedroom, and throwing the bottles in the garbage to hide it and lying to my husband. I don't drink in front of my kids, but that doesn't make me drink any less. I've tried Naltrexone before, but it makes me very sick, and I found when I had something to do, or wanted to drink, I just wouldn't take it that day.
Well, on day 2, I just wanted to say hi, and that I have a lot of respect for you guys. I've spent 2 days reading posts, and am going to go back and read more, with a great big glass of Vanilla Coke.
Take Care,
Anne

Old 09-27-2003, 08:58 AM   #2
Veteran

verylucky HB User
Welcome Anne,
I think you'll find a lot of very helpful people on the site. I know it's been a Godsend for me.

Do you have any type of support system in place? Have you ever gone to an AA meeting? You may want to give it a shot. It is very difficult to quit something by ourselves that we have depended on for so long.

Good luck to you and take care,
verylucky

Sponsors Lightbulb