It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2004, 07:15 PM   #1

LPierce HB User
The addict within...

Well, most of you are familiar with my story, I am a 22 year old recovering hydrocodone addict (used 7 years) I have been clean almost 3 months however, I am still tempted daily...even though im on the Naltrexone (similar to Narcan) I work in law enforcement as a 911 dispatcher, and have for 4 years. In the past I would go into the jails' med room and steal the vicodin that was prescribed to the inmates. We had one inmate that was on methadone, and I would drink his medicine, it was in a bottle in liquid form. 100mgs. I would take a sip from each bottle (there were 7, one for each day of the week) He would normally be here a week or two until he could finally afford to bond out. I was actually happy when this man got arrested, becuase I knew that there would be methadone in the med room!! Well Yesterday, he got arrested yesterday, and his mother brought up his methadone. She handed it to me and asked me to give it to the jail nurse. I just sat here and looked at the bag that had 6 full bottles of methadone in it.....I knew that it would be pointless for me to drink it this time, becuase of the naltrexone, but I went as far as to call poison control and ask them what would happen if someone who was on Naltrexone took methadone, she informed me that the Naltrexone would counteract the med, and it would have no effect on me, maybe drowsiness, if that. I guess thats just the mind of an addict, always has its wheels turning. I know that if it wasnt for the Naltrexone, I probably would have used....when will this cycle stop. Will I ever stop being tempted to use. I noticed that here lately, I have been taking a xanax each day.....just because, why do I feel the need to always want to be f.cked up. Why do I have to b