It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-03-2004, 08:19 AM   #1

tryn2rson HB User
alcohol withdrawels please help

I have been drinking a bottle of wine per night for approximately 2 years. I want to stop. what will happen if I stop abrubtly? Is there any way to taper off alcohol? is there anything to make it easier on me?
I am having surgery in a couple of weeks and I dont want to be having weird symptoms after surgery.
thanks so much!!

Old 05-03-2004, 08:27 AM   #2

jorob HB User
Re: alcohol withdrawels please help

Hi,

You sound exactly like me. I am a recovering alcoholic, 59 days sober. The reason I quit was because I was having knee replacement surgery and I heard that I would have to tell the anesthesiologist how much I was drinking because it could effect the anesthesia and that put such fear in me.

I quit drinking one month before surgery. At the time I was drinking black russians which is one ounce of vodka and once ounce of kahluha. I was drinking 7-8 a night, every night. My withdrawal was not so bad. The second day was worse with shakes cramps and diahhrea.

Depending on the size of the bottle of wine, I would think you should be able to quit without horrible side effects. That is, if it is only one bottle of wine and no other alcohol.

I tried to taper but could not do it - the bottles just called for me. Finally I had to just remove them from my house and quit cold turkey.

You should absolutely try to quit before your surgery - if not, you must be honest and up front with the anesthesiologist. I ended up having an epidural for anesthesia and was not put under general and intubated, so I did very well with my surgery in that regard.

Good luck -

Kathi

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-03-2004, 08:37 AM   #3

tryn2rson HB User