It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-06-2004, 02:43 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(male)

chefob1 HB User
emotional advice

for you that dont know me i am a opiate addict in the midst of recovery for the last time.....i attend weekly a/a meetings looking for aqdvice and guidance....ive got a good girlfriend and a good friend in my dr. who attends the weelky mtgs with me....but ive got a problem that i cant seem to deal with am looking for advice......i am a very good chef in my own right....ive worked hard for years/years cooking and gaining knowledge...ive been voted chef of the year and have many,many culinary acccomplishments...ive even been to the white house......my problem seems to be that i used to have a best friend named john....he was mybest man at my wedding,hes my kids godfather....i hired hime to help me open a 8 million dollar country club here in daytona.....i needed kitchen help and he eagerlt took the job....since he was my best freind he got away with murder as far as employees go...i was abused as is boss since we were best friends...i know that now i made a mistake in hiring him since he knew of my addiction,took advantage of the situation and now has my job as executive chef...he made doughnuts for 12 years in his own business then bought a pizza place since 1989he ran his own business till i hired him,then his wife ran the pizza place and he worked for me...he cost me my job..actually i did but he helped...he supplied me with xanax and vikes all the time knowing i was an addict and was trying to recover....well one day my life exploded in my face and i lost my job/wife/kids/home,ect to addiction.....he now has my job and has been there since i screwed up in 2001........how do i get rid of that baggage...today we talked for the first time since that dreadful day and im still overcome with emot