It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2004, 04:47 PM   #1

CindiLynn HB User
Xanax

I need some opinons of some of you who may have been (or be) in my present situation. I am 29 and have Generalized Anxiety Disorder and often suffer from panic attacks. My PCP prescribed Xanax about 16 months ago and I have been taking on a regular basis (as prescribed)-never have gone over prescribed dosage or felt the need to. This medication just seems to work for me. However, I keep hearing "horror" stories of the withdrawals. I work in the medical field so I am well aware of them. My ? is why can;t someone who does not abuse this drug (and I do not get a "high" off of it like I have heard some addicts describe). It simply keeps me calm and funtioning. Also, it's the only med I need to take. When I took Zoloft I also had to take a sleeping pill as well as klonopin prn. Any comments?

Old 05-25-2004, 05:24 PM   #2
(female)

upatnite58 HB User
Re: Xanax

hi cindy...i used to take 1 mg. of ativan every couple of nites for sleep. i never abused it in any way but after a year of use, i was definetely dependant. may i ask you the dosage you are taking and how often? xanax is most often prescribed for the disorders you mentioned. however, it is habit forming even at prescribed doses. especially for people who use it daily. Are you looking to cut down and stop or do you still require it? might be able to give you more insight upon knowing a few more details...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-25-2004, 06:00 PM   #3

Twist Of Fate! HB User