It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2004, 02:00 AM   #1

sun_shine54935 HB User
Post Please help me Get off of the Pain Killers!

I am new to this, so I am sorry if this is too long. I have been on pain killers (7.5 Vicodin and percocets) for the last 3 to 4 years, and I really want to get off of them. I am a very independant person and I hate the fact that there is something that has control over me! I have come to the realization that I do have a problem. I was getting 180 7.5 Vicodin and 180 Percocet's every month. THAT IS 360 PILLS EVERY MONTH! And believe it or not most of the time they wouldn't even last me that long. I have wanted to stop taking them for a long time, and I have tried many different times. As of right now, I have stopped taking the vicodin, and I am only getting the 180 percocets each month. I think I am able to taper off of them, or at least I think so becuase of the fact that when I have been low, I have been able to ration them. I have gone from eating 15 a day down to eating 5 or 6 if I was low. Yeah, I didn't feel the euphoria but it kept my body from aching, and I was able to sleep through the night. The only reason I am taking them now is to avoid going through the withdrawls. If there wasn't any withdrawls from the pills. I would have stopped a long time ago. The times I have tried to get off of them, the withdrawls were so bad I just went right back to taking them. My doctor will give anyone pain killers! If someone said they cut there finger she would give you them. I recently went to her and asked her for help to get off of them. She gave me 1mg, 2mg, and 3mg Xanax to help with the withdrawls. The Xanax didn't help me at all, it just knocked me out and I slept all the time. I hate Xanax! Well after 2 or 3 days, I went back to her to tell her that the Xanax wasn't workin