It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-19-2004, 04:09 AM   #1

SouthernGirl_78 HB User
Exclamation Addict in recovery in need of opinion about another addict still using

I was addicted to heroin for about a year 2 1/2 years ago. Before that I did about everything else, replacing one for another up until the heroin, lasting a total of about 3 years. I went to rehab for 5 months and that's it. I never did anything about my recovery after that, except to look up information and write poems regularly---so I guess I mean I didn't go to meetings, etc..I know it's only been 2 1/2 years and I'm only 21 years old, but I have had no real problems with temptation or desires and being a college student, I am put in what should be uncomfortable situations with drugs just about daily.
So, my point is, I seemed to have the whole recovery thing a lot easier than every person I know/knew who is either dead, in jail, in rehab, using still, or like my ex-boyfriend with Hepititus C. I am the only one who hasn't relapsed. I need to help my roommate's little sister who is only 17, and I don't know what advice to give her, considering I am not the usual case. She went to rehab recently and came back to her old friends and habits immediately. Before she was in denial that she had a problem, and just today, she told her mom and her sister that she was hopeless and was on drugs again. They have not really talked to her since and want me to talk to her. They don't know she was doing heroin, she just told me. I've been through too much to just watch this. I've talked to her many times, even before her addiction started, about my experiences. I just don't know what will work for her...???
Sorry this is so long and I appreciate any suggestions!

Last edited by SouthernGirl_78; 10-19-2004 at 04:09 AM. Reason: Font and color problems