It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2004, 12:21 PM   #1
Veteran
(female)

Anti Social HB UserAnti Social HB UserAnti Social HB User
Unhappy Recently Relapsed

I have been fighting Alcohol addiction for 4 and 1/2 yrs now.My longest amount of time clean was 3 & 1/2 months.I was drinking every weekend & sometimes a couple of days during the week,it was never daily.I decided to stop when I found out I was sick about 8 months ago.Even after finding out about the illness,I continued to drink for a little while.It was only b/c of my EX threatening to leave me that made me stop for good.Well,turns out I ended up relapsing 4 days ago,had 3 beers w/ an EX of mine.After drinking I realized that I do not want to go back to that space,Im finally getting my life together and feel that I am in a good space in my life.Does anyone think that I 'needed' to relapse to realize that I am in a good space now & that I truly dont want to go back to that horrible time in my life?

Old 10-26-2004, 12:28 PM   #2

Hope12 HB User
Re: Recently Relapsed

Anti Social- You didn't relapse,you slipped!!And what did you learn?? That you don't want to go back to the way you were living!! Yep, sometimes we all need a little reminder,and you got yours.Don't beat yourself up,just pick yourself up and keep on going.

Peace,Stacie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-26-2004, 02:04 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

I never thought about it that way.Ive always considered it as a relapse.This slip was different from my other ones,this was the only time where I thought to myself 'I dont want to go back there"..I even hesitated for about an hour or so before I took that first sip.I knew It was wrong but I gave into the temptation.Im a lil disapointed in myself but I know that I at least learned something from this slip.

Old 10-26-2004, 02:15 PM   #4