It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2005, 06:02 PM   #1
(female)

NcitaRebita HB User
From an addict's perspective, please help!

This is my first time posting! I just googled message boards on this topic, because I wanted to vent and get advice from those in the know about the topic.

Anyhow, I have been concerned for a friend of mine for a long time. We used to date, and he uses many drugs. At first I was looking for an escape from my life at the time and tried various things with him...ecstacy at nightclubs, "k", "g", etc. The thing is, that was years ago and I am a different person now and he is not. I feel mature and balanced and independant. I keep a steady job/apartment and social life. His problems seem to have gotten worse and worse. But the thing is, I still feel a profound connection with him and love him like no one else.

He is amazingly sweet and intelligent and makes me laugh, and it has been 5 years and we can't go more than 2 months not seeing eachother without one calling the other to say "I miss you".

However, his entire life is just based around drugs, and other users, and the entire 'scene' of it. He was smoking crack for awhile when we first dated, but knew that would 'scare me' so kept it a secret from me until he stopped (mostly) with this drug a couple months later. Right now it seems like he is a 'general junkie', not addicted to one thing. He will consume practically anything intoxicating...GHB, Ketacet, "E", meth, cocaine, alcohol...'what have you'. He tends to be up for about 3-4 days at a time, then sleep a full day, then continue with this.