It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2006, 10:33 AM   #1
(female)

HydroHead HB User
Mothers on pills....please help!

I am 29 years old and have a beautiful toddler and a wonderful understanding husband who knows I'm a pill head and loves me so much anyway. I hate what I have done to myself and to him and my daughter. I have written once or twice here before in the last month but I'll go over the stats again. I have been using Hydro/Oxy for about 1 year & 6 months. It began in my last trimester of pregnancy when a condition call deQuere Vanes sysdrome, a swelling of the wrist and thumb area which I have had since 17 years old, became virtually unbareable. With the permission of my 2nd OBGYN (my first dropped me for not being honest about past and current cocaine and pill use, I have been clean of cocaine for 2 years now) my orthopedic put me on vicodin. I have had a love affair with pills since I was about 19. The first time I took a percocet I swore I had found the fountain of eternal energy and giddy-*** happiness. The first time I got addicted I was 25 and had a friend who worked for a MD and she called me in a bottle of 120 vicoprofen with 3 refills (never got caught) and I popped them happily for about 2 1/2 months. when I ran out I thought nothing of it. When I woke up the next morning and had the shakes and the sweats I thought "huh, this sucks but how long can it last?" It lasted 5 days, and It started on Monday and I had just started a new job and didn't feel I could call out, and I actually made it through withdrawal while working and never letting anyone (even my husband, boyfriend at the time) know what was up. But it was horrible and I swore I would never take those things long enough to experience withdrawal again. And I didn't for 3 years. I would use them here and there, I could usually