It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2007, 08:48 PM   #1
(female)

mayrosita HB User
Help! tramadol addiction

I am new at this, but I am very isolated and alone, and I need some guidance and support. I have been hopelessly addicted to Tramadol for the past 3 years. I want to quit! I would like to know if anyone has had any luck with tapering off. Also, I am very depressed. I am going to ask my doctor for anti-depressant medication - he does not know about my addiction, and I would like to keep it that way. I am obtaining the pills illegally-Are there anti-depressants one should not take with tramodal? Please, please, please help-I am so ashamed about this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-19-2007, 09:16 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

jules3 HB User
Re: Help! tramadol addiction

Before you ask your doc about adding any medications you need to be honest with him about what you are taking illegally. do you want to end up dead? this is serious..be honest with him about you wanting to taper off and he will tell you how and help you. if you strat out lying to him it will just snowball and you wont get the right help that you need...come clean with your doc!!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-21-2007, 10:47 AM   #3
(male)

newview07 HB User

One thing, in my experience not all doctors are familiar with treating addiction as well as others. My ex g/f went to her doc for opiate addiction and he just gave her antidepressants - which did nothing for her. There are some doctors that are more knowledgable with treating addiction, and not afraid to go certain avenues (such as weaning or more effective detox drugs).