It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2007, 10:33 PM   #1
(female)

shay4bliss HB User
Smile Hi! Newbie here. Anyone have any experience with methadone?

Hi, I am new to this site and there seems to be a lot of insightful folks here....so I am wondering if anyone can help me. I was put on methadone for pain 3 days ago, after being on hydrocodone 10/650 for the last year and a half, following a serious car accident. I am very frightened of methadone and nervous to take it, however have come to trust my doctor immensely and feel I want to follow her recommedations. I know I am addicted to the hydrocodone and am afraid of being addicted to the methadone which seems to be inevitable according to what I've read. Right now the methadone is being given to me for pain, not maintanence. I also have a long history battling various addictions.

The idea of being on methadone terrifies me. I have heard it's worse than the hydro to come off of. I have withdrawn off alcohol many times (have been abstinent from alcohol for almost 2 yrs), and have never been through anything as bad as booz...I was a very hard drinker...the type that got so bad I had to drink to live.
Anyway...my questions are:
How quickly will I be hooked to the methadone? I mean could I stop in a month without WD's? How long does it take to taper? Should I be so afraid? I have chronic pain and will for the rest of my life and will need some kind of pain killers. My doctor thinks methadone is the cleanest and safest thing for long term use, but is hoping to taper me off after I have completed several proceedures to my injured knee.