It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2008, 12:20 PM   #1
(male)

DroopyEyes HB User
Exercise

I don't think I'm supposed to mention specific businesses but I did want to offer a suggestion --- some on here (mano?) stress the imporatance of exercise and helping us re-wire our receptors to get through withdrawals, pain, life. I 100% concur. I've been very slowly tapering which is only frustrating because now I can really feel my degenerating gallbladder. But the doc called Friday and I'm scheduled for its removal on 24JAN - yay.

The other yay is that it's being done for free since I'm a Vet.

Another yay is that my doc emailed me (yes, you read that right) and closed by asking if I needed any more pain pills. I have 2 refills left and old me would have jumped and said yes. New me will reply no, and these pills will get me through the post-surg pain, which I will also tell the surgeon (that I don't need additional pain meds for post-surg.) Old me would be thinking I hit the pain pill jackpot - SCORE!

I'm slowly realizing how much my brain is addicted and the pain is actually something I can take. My job is very frustrating in that I'm new, and have been a newhire training instructor in the past. There is no training program at my job, or a half-___'d one and I'm not used to working like that. I want to do a good/great job and learn the correct way to do things and not the lame-***** "watch over my shoulder" method. That won't work. So I found myself getting terribly frustrated last week and wanting to reach for the bottle. I didn't. I waited it out til the next on my taper schedule. It helps.