It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2008, 07:39 PM   #1
(female)

myonlybabygirl HB User
pregnant and on methadone

hello to everyone,
this is my first time on the message board. i have a question for anyone who can help me. i am 7 months pregnant and i have been taking 10mg of methadone aday for the whole 7 months. i am scared to tell my dr. because i was not prescribed them. i have been getting them from a friend. my due date is near and i want to tell my dr. so that he will know when i deliver. but i am scared thay will take my baby. what should i do?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-14-2008, 01:48 AM   #2
(male)

DroopyEyes HB User
Re: pregnant and on methadone

Hi friend ....

I'm not a lawyer or a doctor but the first thing I am thinking is that you don't want to lose your baby. I also think you want to give that baby the best possible start in life. I'm concerned that s/he is addicted to methadone, and if you don't tell someone, it'll go through needless withdrawal without you after birth.

If this were me, I would think of some options:
a. Figuring out a tapering schedule that would help you AND the baby get clean before you deliver.
b. Trusting your doctor NOW, and taking the initiative to step up and say that you and your baby need help NOW.
c. Doing nothing and having Family & Child Protective Svcs make all the decisions for you.

I am saying all of this kindly and with a lot of care for your situation. Do you have any adult, drug-free friends, a pastor/rabbi - an adult - whom you can also confide in? Do you have any kind of insurance coverage of your own or your parents so you can go to rehab.

I want you and your baby to have the best life. I hope you find the option that helps you both find that.