It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2008, 07:08 PM   #1
(female)

mandypaige24 HB User
How to tell

Hello Everyone,
I'm new to this, so please bare with me. My mother is a constantly recovering addict. She was a nurse with an addiction to pain meds...at one time 70 a day. She has been using, relapsing, and "recovering" for over ten years now. Long story short...she and I just started to rebuild a relationship about three months ago after five years of no speaking. She just finished a two year program and appears to be doing well, with the exception of a few times. I don't know if I'm just paranoid or what, but I need to know some sure signs to look for.

I.E. at dinner last night she kept nodding off and having to shake off her "exhaustion" as she called it just to get through the meal.

I would appreciate any help. THX

Old 02-04-2008, 07:47 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

ilovejoaquim HB User
Re: How to tell

its hard to tell just because she was "nodding" off. it could be a bunch of things, or she could have just been really shaking off her exhaustion. My mother does that. She is a nurse and she's constantly "shaking" off her exhaustion. But could be anything.

For pills, some signs to look for is exessive talking, like..she won't shut up and she keeps on blabbing and blabbing. If she seems to have alot of energy or can't sit still for a long period of time. When I take pills I get like that. But thats usually the only sign I show when I take a pill. There are other signs to but it just depends on the person.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-05-2008, 03:54 AM   #3
Inactive
(female)

jules3 HB User

nodding is a sure sign of opiate abuse..also take a look into her eyes..if her pupils are tiny or pinned thats another sure sign...good luck

Old 02-05-2008, 07:09 AM   #4
(female)

mandypaige24 HB User