It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-12-2009, 12:56 PM   #1
(female)

jubejube421 HB User
Lorazepam tapering

HI I am new to this but tomorrow I start tapering off Lorazepam and I am scared to death of what to expect? I have been on Lorazepam for 8 years since my mother died and decided it's time to end this cycle and this wall I have been hiding behind protecting my emotions, always smiling on the outside and I'm hurting on the inside. I have a lot of support from my husband but I have been on this drug for so long now is it possible to taper by 1mg each week? I was taking up to 6-2 mg tablets a day. So tomorrow I still take the six for 1 week then 5 for 1 week and so on until I'm off them completely. Has anybody done this before at this strength? I am so embarrassed at this and kind of mad at my doctor for never saying anything to me. Wish me luck.

Old 01-23-2009, 07:52 PM   #2
(female)

ScamperFletcher HB User
Re: Lorazepam tapering

Hey Jube - I was just surfing around & saw your post & no replies.

I tapered off of another benzo (Xanax) - which basically acts the same as Lorazepam (CNS Depressant).

Did you start your taper, and how are you doing? Just wondering if I can help in anyway, if you are still visiting the boards.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-23-2009, 09:22 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Secrets1983 HB User

Hey Jube!
Welcome!!! I just now saw this post but see it was posted back on the 12th... Are you out there still? If so, how is the tapering going? Are you doing okay?

That taper seems pretty quick but I am no expert! Post something if you are out there...

Good for you for taking charge of your emotions!! That is great! Give us an update if you are around!
~Secrets

Old 01-24-2009, 08:39 AM   #4
(female)

jubejube421 HB User
Smile Re: Lorazepam tapering