It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-28-2009, 12:22 PM   #1
(male)

lifesabich HB User
methadone detox from home

how do you detox without the physical pain i have went from 20 to 30mg a day for 3 years to between 5 and 10 mg a day but if i try nothing at all i get insomnia incredible pain i am taking ativan 1mg and 0.3 clonidine so the only thing i cannot handle is the pain part

Old 01-28-2009, 01:55 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Secrets1983 HB User
Re: methadone detox from home

Hey lifesabich,

Welcome. I am not sure if it's possible to go thru that pain free... I have never been on methadone so I am no expert but I am pretty sure anything we taper from or quit cold turkey will cause some pain.

Just remember that we are all here for you and anything worth doing... is usually hard to do! That is what I have found in life anyways!

Hope you feel better soon!
~Secrets

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-28-2009, 05:42 PM   #3
(female)

zenith15 HB User

The rule for tapering is that you reduce by no more than 10% 0f your dose every 2-4 weeks. Being as low as you are, you will want to go no more than 1mg every 2-4 weeks--it you REALLY want it to be pain free, I'd make it every 4 weeks. Stay hydrated and monitor your blood pressure for spikes and hypertension. If you start feeling too bad (i.e., can't sleep, can't work, etc), it's time to take a break, stop the taper and go back up a milligram or two for a few weeks until you stabilize, then start again. This is a very delicate procedure and requires a lot of time to do correstly--but hey, might as well do it right and have it stick than hurry it and make yourself sick. If you do it properly you should feel little or no pain. You can take ibuprofen for the muscle aches.

Last edited by mod-anon; 01-29-2009 at 01:50 AM. Reason: removed quote