It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-29-2009, 07:41 PM   #1
(male)

Wytt HB UserWytt HB UserWytt HB User
How to Stop Cold-Turkey Tramadol / Ultram

QUIT COLD-TURKEY TRAMADOL & ULTRAM -- IT IS NOT MYTH

I want to address one area of Tramadol / Ultram addiction that most post in general, do not recommend -- that is quitting cold-turkey.

I was having trouble finding a time table, advice, detox, etc. for this process, and often read of the low success rate of completely stopping this drug all together. I was taking up to 10, 50mg pills a day for over a year. The first disclaimer is this: I've read a lot about seizures with stopping this medication cold turkey. I have felt what can only be articulated as personified death, but no seizures. This is very serious, I'm not a doctor, I can only provide you with objective advice and try to detach my emotions from this extremely difficult experience.

I am on day 7. I have absolutely no need for tramadol -- not even a thought about it. When you make it through the first 3 days, you will hate this drug, you may even, like myself, call the online pharmacy that is based in South Dakota and then call the DEA (this was a bit excessive but I was writhing on the floor with "brain and lip zaps" and "sweats". But when you break it down, it is our fault for becoming addicted and abusing the drug. Yes, I started on the drug to relieve genuine pain, yes there should have been more information out there, but yes, we have addictive personalities and we have become dependent on a chemical that is so unnatural to our physiology and organism as a whole. In reality, I am to blame -- but it still felt good giving the online pharmacy hell when they solicited a call for a refill when my regularly scheduled $133 refill came and went without order.

That's that.