It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-09-2012, 08:12 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

NicoIcon HB User
Question I dont understand some things about methadone... anyone know?

Hello everyone,

I am new to methadone treatment for my addiction to pain medicines. And there are some things I still don’t understand, and I'm hoping some of you may have the answers. I would ask the clinic workers but I would have to schedule an appt for next week and I would like to know sooner.

So here are the top 3 questions I can’t find answers to:

1) Isn’t methadone supposed to flood opiate receptors therefore blocking other opiates? I have been reading all over the internet that pain mgmt. doctors are using methadone for chronic pain. I have seen on the chronic pain boards that some people take methadone and also hydrocodone or percs for "breakthrough pain". I don’t understand this.
When I first talked to my methadone clinic about starting treatment they told me one of the benefits of methadone is that it will discourage you from abusing other opiates because it would "block" the effects of other drugs. So why would PM doctors give patients break through meds on top of methadone? Isn’t that just adding useless chemicals to your body?

3) Is there any accurate way to convert methadone mg vs. hydrocodone mg?
If I was taking about 300mg of hydro’s a day is this about the same as 40mgs of methadone? Or more? There are a thousand different "converter" websites but they all give conflicting information, or a bunch of scientific lingo that I don’t understand because I am neither a doctor nor a chemist..lol.