It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-25-2012, 06:00 PM   #1
(female)

k00k00 HB User
Tramadol Detox With Opiates

I am new to this but my story is the same as most with Tramadol. I began taking it for pain. After two years and PT, Chiro, Massage etc I am pain free (mostly). So I went to my doctor and said that I wanted to be done with it. He began the titration process and put on 3/day for 2 months. At the beginning of my newest RX I got a terrible toothache and took Tramadol over my normal amount 4/day for the pain. It wasn't working at all. I went to my doctor and got Vicodin. I didn't want to take it so I continued with Tramadol thinking it was less "addictive and safer" than the big bad opiates. My doctor also wrote me an RX for Diclofenac and after 1 pill my tooth pain was gone. i resumed my regular 3/day tramadol and then decided I was over titrating. I was ready to be done with these stupid pills and didn't need them. INterestingly the Diclofenac helped my back and neck pain as well. In any event, I am now going on day 5 off tramadol. I figured I would try taking the Vicodin for a day or two to offset the opiate w/drawal and it worked! It however did NOT help with the other devil pill symptoms. I stopped the Vicodin after day 2 and then relied on clonidine and diclofenac only and so far so good. I still have little to no appeitite and my sleep is all haywire, but everyday is better. Tramadol is a terrible drug. I have never had any issues stopping any drugs in my life. I am no saint I've done my share of experimenting with drugs but I have never had such an ordeal trying to discontinue anything. I wish I had read all of these posts before I ever agreed to take the "safe, non addictive, pain medication." Uh ya right! It sucks to be physically addicted to a drug you don't EVEN WANT TO TAKE. I can't lie