It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2012, 12:29 PM   #1
(female)

smarty44 HB User
alcoholism

Hi, i've been drinking for the last 15 years started off with a couple of beers a night then moved on to 1/2 bottle of scotch or vodka (still every night) i managed to change to a bottle of wine and ditched the scotch but still have been drinking everyday but this has crept up to two bottles (the first of which is drunk in less than an hour). I have a stressful job and its ridiculous how happy i feel with that first glass in my hand when i get through the door (it's the first thing i do) however i have been ill for sometime and have been told to cut back on the alcohol, I have done many stupid things when ive been drunk but i never remember anything last episode ended up in A&E, i have decided enough is enough but im worried about withdrawals and sick of doing damage limitation the day after, i've hurt my family and my friends i guess im just sick and tired of being sick and tired not to mention the expense of drinking just to flush it all away...
any advice on withdrawals would be great

Old 07-19-2012, 01:02 PM   #2
(female)

rsch HB User
Re: alcoholism

Hello! Alcohol withdrawal can be fatal. Would you be willing to talk to your doctor about it?

The Following User Says Thank You to rsch For This Useful Post:
smarty44 (07-22-2012)
Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-20-2012, 10:32 PM   #3
Veteran
(female)

mommaoftwinsplus1 HB Usermommaoftwinsplus1 HB User

Smarty44...I am in the same boat with you. I want too quit but scared of the WD symtoms. I have been cutting back (tapering) and have been doing well with that. I think if you quit cold turkey you will send your body into shock. That is why I am slowly tapering. Here for support smarty44~

The following user gives a hug of support to mommaoftwinsplus1: