It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2012, 06:38 PM   #1
(male)

AmericanDreamer HB User
I'm trying to be 100% sober

I've been smoking marijuana and drinking alcohol since I was a freshman in high school. It is something I certain regret starting. I don't drink daily, I don't get the shakes, I don't drink until every last beer is gone, I don't drink until I black out (although I have). My point here is that I don't relate well to people that attend AA meetings, but I'm not saying I won't go for the support. I certainly have a drinking problem. Over three years ago I got a DWI and quit drinking for three months, and that was a failed challenge. Recently, I've been driving drunk again and each time I tell myself I won't do that anymore. I go out to meet up with some friends and once the beer starts flowing my comfortability with driving gets greater. It is not until the next morning I feel guilty and stupid for what I'd done. I've wanted to quit smoking pot for years, and for two years I did successfully. In those two years I noticed that I drank more often. I guess my main problem is that my social life revolves around alcohol, and I clearly can't make responsible decisions while I'm under the influence so it's time to kick them both.

The following user gives a hug of support to AmericanDreamer:
Phoenix (11-16-2012)
Old 11-11-2012, 07:35 PM   #2
(female)

yrsofpainsucks HB Useryrsofpainsucks HB Useryrsofpainsucks HB User
Re: I'm trying to be 100% sober