It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addiction & Recovery Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2012, 04:44 AM   #1
(male)

Victoriap9 HB User
Withdrawals and slow heartbeat

I've been drinking for twenty years almost everyday the whole time. My memory so shot I can't remember not having periods of sobriety although I'm sure I did while in a marriage for six years.
Last November I had my first panic attack after night of drinking and then drinking in morning to go to work. I was hauled away in ambulance at work felt like stroke heart attack. Ever since that day I have been sick. I started Ativan at the time and I did not stop drinking. I realized that I couldn't drink hard alcohol or my preference red wine or I'd have an attack. I had so many neurological symptoms like numbness, dizziness, fast heartbeat etc... I found white wine I could drink and i wouldn't get an attack, thus became my new vice. Bottle or two a night. Ativan would cure any anxiety the next morning.
So, last february I caught a flu that I had to take antibiotics for, so I went cold turkey with Ativan and alcohol. I was so sick I couldn't differentiate if I was getting withdrawals. But one thing I noticed my heart rate dropped really low to the 60s or below when at rest. My heartbeat always been too fast and saw cardiologist for it. So I saw him again and said my heart was fine it's ok to be slow. Soo I started drinking slowly to see if it would go back to my normal range, sure enough. This lead to me drinking again.