It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-15-2007, 04:33 PM   #1
(male)

Hormoneman HB User
How I interpret the ACTH stimulation test

Keep in mind these are my opinions and I'm not a doctor.

The ACTH stimulation test (also called the Cortrosyn (aka Cosyntropin) or Synacthen test) is a medical test performed to assess the functioning of the adrenal glands. Specifically, it is used to diagnose or exclude adrenal insufficiency, Addison's disease and related conditions. It involves the injection of synthetic adrenocorticotropic hormone (ACTH) and measuring the amount of cortisol, and sometimes aldosterone, the adrenals produce in response. Apart from objectivating adrenal insufficiency, it can distinguish whether the cause is adrenal (low cortisol production) or pituitary (low ACTH production).

In healthy individuals, the cortisol level should double from a value in the 20s within 60 minutes. If the cortisol level was a 25 before the stimulation (base level), after the stimulation should reach at least 50. This test may cause some mild side effects in some individuals such as nausea, facial flushing or palpitations (a fast or fluttering heart beat). These are all normal reactions, but for most patients these disappear in a few hours.