It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-05-2011, 03:57 AM   #1
(female)

tazmania16 HB User
TWIN pregnancy and Addisons disease

Hi All Mommies!

I'm new at messaging but wanted to share my story...

I was diagnosed with Addisons Disease 3 years ago and was told my condition was too unstable to consider having children at the time. Naturally this was very distressing. One year later i was finally given the go ahead by my doctor but was told that the possibilities of falling pregnant were slim. We were thrilled to find out i was pregnant after just 5 months and then the shocker hit - I was expecting TWINS!
I was warned by all medical professionals that the chance of the twins survival was slim and that my life would be considered before theirs. A terrifying prospect considering my unstable condition.
At first everything seemed to be going well, i suffered very little nausea, but was absolutely exhausted. At 24 weeks pregnant I suffered my first crisis since falling pregnant. It was minor but I was hospitalized for a few days due to hypoglyceamia (a daily problem for me) but also low blood pressure (80/40) which seemed to worsen when I slept.
My medication was increased steadily from then on, everytime a crisis threatened.
At 30 weeks I was unable to walk, lay down or eat. This made the hypoglyceamia worse still. I began experiencing false labour contractions which had me admitted to hospital a few times and my team of doctors indicated concern for my health as well as my twins at this stage. The drugs they would normally give for preterm labour were interfering with the steroids i take for Addisons and making me extremely ill.