It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-31-2011, 11:03 AM   #1
(female)

ct*Linda HB User
Addison's - Heat & Exercise!

Hello,
This is my first time posting. I came here to try and find some information about addison's and coping with extreme heat while exercising.

Some background: I am a 47 year old female and have had Addison's for about 15 years now. My regular dose of prednisone is 5mg am and 2.5 mg pm. I also take Florinef, I think .5 mg daily.

For the most part this dose is fine for me. I exercise frequently and am a compeitive tennis player. One of my biggest "stressors" is this HEAT! I do play tennis indoors mostly, even in the summer, but it still becomes extremely hot and I have a hard time coping.

I have had a very active summer playing many competitive tennis matches and have been doubling and often tripling my prednisone to be able to play competitively. I often also double the florinef. (I also increase my salt intake and all that).

I have been doing this for the past month and am experiencing side effects of too much prednisone...such as weight gain and easy bruising. I realize it is probably not very smart or safe to be taking so much so often. I have about another week and a very big tournament next weekend, then I will take some time off from tennis until it cools down.

I just wonder if how people with addisons cope with the heat? And exercise? I am wondering if I should even be playing competitively anymore if this is what I have to do in order to play well and tolerate the heat. I LOVE playing competitively, as opposed to recreationally. I would hate to have to not be able to do it because of my addison's.

Thanks for any advice,
Linda

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-04-2011, 08:06 AM   #2
(male)

Bicycler HB User
Re: Addison's - Heat & Exercise!