It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Addison's Disease Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-08-2011, 10:29 AM   #1
(female)

k_c_lady HB User
Wink Hydrocortisone Alternatives Whats out there?

Hello, I have been using hydrocortisone (cortef) for 6 years this last Aug..

I have notcied in the last year or so that my memory is getting worse and worse. The other day, I noticed that one of the side effects to Cortef is memory loss. It's so bad that my sons says "mom, you can't member anything, I mean AN-Y-THING!" I am not sure what to do at this point. I don't want to continue this way.

Whats out there besides this scary drug? I take 30mg in the morning and 10 at night (when I can remember)

Thanks for your help! Kc

Old 10-21-2011, 11:13 AM   #2
(female)

sandylake HB User
Re: Hydrocortisone Alternatives Whats out there?

I have been researching this recently for my son. This is the info I have found.

ADRENAL CORTEX EXTRACT
LICORICE EXTRACT
SIBERIAN GINSING
DHEA
ashwagandha and very large doses of vitamin B5.
Herbal remedy called AdrenoBoost --

We have not tried any of these ALTERNATIVES, yet. My son was diagnosed May, 2011 -- he was taking hydrocortisone and fludrocortisone. During summer (while hiking) he substituted his hydro for prednisone.

I, too, would like to hear some responses/ info from others on this forum. Hope that they contribute.

Last edited by moderator2; 10-21-2011 at 02:51 PM. Reason: please do not post a commercial website, for any reason.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-22-2011, 04:55 PM   #3
(female)

kiaguppy HB User