It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Aging Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2005, 12:17 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

Miowki HB User
Family problems with Grandma's welfare

As an English newbie I have been lurking on the message boards for a little while now and have become very impressed with the help and support everyone gives to each other.

I would like to ask you all for your welcomed advice and will try and keep my message as incise as possible!

My MIL, who lives alone, fractured her hip just before Christmas 04. Her home is 25 miles away from ours. The afternoon of her fall she phoned without mentioning what had happened and asked to speak to my DH, he wasn't in..........................upshot was that I called for an ambulance and the rest, as they say, is history.

We have 3 sons, 1 by my first marriage and 2 by ours.

Grandma stayed with DH and me from the time she was discharged from hospital until a month ago when she moved into our youngest son and DIL's second home which they have recently bought, having rented out their first. Both of them are 26 and our granddaughter is 2 and a half.

This is wherein the problem lies! It was all done between DH and my backs. No consultation as a family at all despite the fact that DH and son have a joint POA.

Grandma pretended she didn't know anything about it but was happy to be with "little Millie" (GD)

DH and I had a couple of "run ins" with Grandma when we learnt of the plans and here I should explain things further.

My Father died at 61,my Mum was only 58 and all their married life she and Dad had lived with her MIL and DIN. My Aunt, whose only child was married and living in Germany had lost her husband just 6 months before my Father died. Way back in 1972 it seemed a sensible decision to gather everyone as a family and live in one house.