It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Aging Issues Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2009, 09:40 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(male)

JohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB UserJohnR41 HB User
How can you tell if you have Alzheimer's?

Not being an expert, I gave the title of a book written by a neurologist who specializes in dementia. He tells, in his book, how to go about getting the correct diagnosis. And he himself follows certain strict proceedures to arrive at a diagnosis for Alzheimer's. I actually got the impression that he's overly cautious in this regard. But he's a doctor and I'm not.

When I took my father to a general practitioner, he got the correct diagnosis of "Alzheimer's" in about 5 minutes. Was the doctor 100% sure of his diagnosis? No, because when it comes to complex health issues like dementia, there's seldom 100% certainty, at least by a general practitioner who only spends five or 10 minutes with the patient. But the doctor did tell us that we could have certain other tests done to eliminate other possible causes. So we did and couldn't find any other cause.

Old 04-05-2009, 07:38 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

dorri HB Userdorri HB Userdorri HB Userdorri HB Userdorri HB User
Re: How can you tell if you have Alzheimer's?

My mom was recently diagnosed with dementia.

The first thing that we noticed that was not normal was her confusion, repeating herself, forgetting, and very strange behavior. She did go through a battery of tests and after all that was done she was diagnosed with vascular dementia.
That's what they do, they rule all possible causes out, and then determine if they have alzheimers/dementia.