It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2002, 10:57 AM   #1

kristanicole HB User
Unhappy itchy lips :(

hi, this is my first time here, so hopefully i'm dong this right. I'm trying to find some info on what on earth could be wrong with my lips! i knw i have some sort of allergy becuase when i eat certain fruits (apples, peaches, pears, nectarines, plums etc) my lips become unbareably itchy and swollen. this lasts for days after. But for the last 3 weeks my lips have been horrible and I havent eaten any of those...it's the worst at night. woke up this morning and they were all blistery and weeping. ouch! what could be wrong?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-04-2002, 12:28 PM   #2

momma2boys HB User
BE CAREFUL!!! This happened to me, I used to eat bananas all the time and then I started getting the itchy lips. Then my throat would start itching and feel like it was swelling. It eventually got to the point where someone was eating a banana across the table from me and I broke out in hives so bad and my face swelled so bad my eyes were closed. They told me that if I ever accidentally ingest bananas it could be fatal. You should stop eating anything that is bothering you and see an allergy doctor before you have an anaphylactic reaction.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-03-2003, 11:28 PM   #3

khumphrey HB User
It sounds like you have oral allergy syndrome. Are you also allergic to grass or pollen? I have the same thing, to the same kinds of foods. It progressed to nuts as well, and now I carry an epi-pen.