It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2003, 09:22 AM   #1

Leadsinger777 HB User
Addicted to Afrin type Nasal Sprays

I posted this on the addiction board and was advised that I might want to post it here instead. So, here goes...
I have been using Afrin regularly for about 9 months. I started using it because it openend my nasal passages wide and helped me to sing better. Now I have to use it 3-4 times a day to breathe. I tried to stop it only to be unable to breathe at all. A few days went by and I finally crumbled. I had to use it again. I couldn't sleep or talk. I was miserable.
I carry one bottle in my pocket, keep one at work, one near the bed, one in the bathroom, and I even have one in my gym bag for fear that it will wear off and I won't be able to breath again. It is that uncomfortable.
I need some help to be able to breathe again without the use of Nasal Spray. Anyone know what I can do?

Signed,
Rick

Old 12-09-2003, 10:29 AM   #2
Inactive

mouse62 HB User
Re: Addicted to Afrin type Nasal Sprays

I'm addicted to it too! I just carry it with me at all times. Is there something OTC I can switch to to wean me off? The decongestants in Nyquil and Dayquil don't do it.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-09-2003, 11:24 AM   #3

Leadsinger777 HB User

Quote:
Originally Posted by mouse62
I'm addicted to it too! I just carry it with me at all times. Is there something OTC I can switch to to wean me off? The decongestants in Nyquil and Dayquil don't do it.
No, ordinary decongestants don't alleviate this. I was also informed that using this nasal spray all the time can cause high blood pressure. Who would have thought? I agree, if there was something out there not addictive I could use to wean off of it that would help.
I tried saline nasal drops on a recommendation, but that didn't help.

Old 12-10-2003, 03:10 AM   #4