It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-30-2004, 10:00 PM   #1
Inactive

waiting4acure HB User
Oak Tree Allergy

Hi everyone! I am new to the allergy board, however a veteran to the fibromyalgia, obviously the name fits

I am writing actually for my daughter. She is 17 and has suffered with "tree oak allergies" since she was very young. Her doctor says that he has never seen a patient with more severe reactions than she. I would love to hear from anyone with similiar allergies to tree oak. Her reaction is, extreme bloodshot swollen eyes...to the point of most days sealed shut. Ichy throat, headache, the usual other allergy symtoms and also including ashma brought on as a very bad reaction as well. She is taking Flonase nose spray (sp?), Zyrtec pill and Pantonal eye drops(sp?)... Curious what works for those with oak ree allergies. Thanks in advance!

Old 05-01-2004, 05:38 AM   #2

beach_tiglet HB User
Re: Oak Tree Allergy

Hi, I have suffered pretty much the same symptoms as your daughter my whole life. When I am on immunotherapy, I can tolerate the pollen season much better, but when the pollen count hits 1000-6000 I just stay indoors except to go to and from my car.

I have had a really bad season this time, so I am on more meds than usual. Clarinex is currently the antihistimine that is working best, though we have tried zyrtec, allegra and claritin. I take a decongestant, guaifen/pse daily also. The allergist is really picky about how I use my flonase, I have to cleanse my nose with ENT/sol spray first, then tilt my head slightly forward and put one spray in away from the nose per nostril and wait 5 minutes and repeat. During oak season I do this twice a day. You would be suprised the difference using the flonase "correctly" makes.