It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2004, 01:39 PM   #1
(female)

ahimsa HB User
Hello... Anyone with hives due to dust mites?

Hi, I am new to this discussion group. I have Googled for allergy related dicussion groups and this one here seems to be the most active and useful that I have found.

I will try to keep this short. There is way too much history so there is no way I can tell my whole story.
I have had chronic, though fairly infrequent bouts of hives over the last three years. The episodes get progressively worse each time. The biggest problem is that I don't know what is causing them. I do have an allergy doctor, thank god, and he is great. I have had some testing (including RAST, but also some autoimmunity and other special tests). I am on several different antihistamines, and my Dr. and I are continuing the "investigation" - my next appointment is Nov 18 to review the latest blood test results.

So far, the only RAST test that has come back positive is for dust mites. I consider it to be a clue but not an obvious root cause. When I look back at my history, some of it is consistent with a dust mite allergy, but some of it is not. (Again, too many details to include here, please just trust me.) My Dr. agrees with me - he is not convinced that dust mite allergy is solely responsible for the hives, though it might be a contributing factor.

Have any of you had hives due to dust mite allergy? If so, did you have any other allergic symptoms? For me, the only reaction is the hives. No sneezing, itching runny nose, itchy eyes, etc.