It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2005, 12:07 PM   #1
(female)

Holly_WA HB User
mold allergies

My 5yo son has some allergies. He was tested a couple of months ago. He is allergic to milk/eggs(which the Dr thinks its an old allergy), cats/dogs,mold, feathers.
If he is allergic to mold---should I eliminate mold form his diet? "The mold family" has foods that have mold in them. Has anyone heard of this or done this?

Holly

Last edited by Holly_WA; 02-05-2005 at 12:08 PM.

Old 02-05-2005, 02:42 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

chigs489 HB User
Re: mold allergies

I'm not a doctor, but this seems a little unusual to me, for a young kid to be allergic to so many things.

Children's immune systems develop over the years, and learn to adapt to the environment. Their immune systems don't always know the proper response to a given substance, such as dust or certain foods. It's almost like a learning processs.

Did your son grow up in a super clean environment? Was he sheltered from dirt and mud? Was he allowed to play in a sandbox?

Many children with allergies grew up in immaculate houses. Their immune systems never learned how to develop correctly, because they were never exposed to certain things.

Talk to your doctor about this, before going crazy trying to shield your son from thousands of allergens.

Another question... did your son get the initial skin ***** test only? Or did he also get the blood test to determine his allergies?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 02-07-2005, 04:54 AM   #3
(male)

flickfire HB User