It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-16-2010, 07:02 PM   #1
(female)

mommain HB User
What's your experience with shot therapy?

Hi everyone! I am new to this. My 8yr old has just been diagnosed with severe yr-round allergies, and some moderate-severe food allergies. Allergy shot therapy is in our future. My husband is ready to do it, but I am not convinced it's necessary and will be trying a gluten-free, natural diet before shot therapy. I wondered about your experience with the allergy shots?

Old 04-17-2010, 05:47 AM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User
Re: What's your experience with shot therapy?

For environmental allergies (pollens, dust mites, etc - not food allergies) they worked great for me. Keep in mind that this is a long process (standard is 5 years) so it takes dedication. I've done them 3 times in my life (teens, 30's, 50's) as they are not a cure and can wear off over time. I hope I live long enough to need them again!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-17-2010, 12:59 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

MountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB UserMountainReader HB User

They have done wonders for me. I'm on my second go-round in my life. Prior to starting my current therapy a couple years ago, I was on 4 allergy meds daily. I'm down to two at this point and one of those if really taken for my asthma.

If you are looking to a total holistic approach for your son, I have a friend who took her children to see a NAET practitioner who was able to treat their allergies naturally.