It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Allergies Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2013, 06:03 PM   #1
(female)

JenPlus2 HB User
Allergy shots not working?

I've been receiving allergy shots for 8 months. I am getting extremely frustrated by my allergy symptoms because they will not budge one bit. I've reached my supposed maintanence dose and am now only going every 3 wks for shots. I get 7 shots total. My allergic symptoms, else I've ranted about before, are mainly swelling in my upper respitory tracts. I am allergic to many things indoor/outdoor according to my intradermal testing. My allergist doesn't seem to think this is a problem, which kind of scares me. At my last visit, he told me I should start taking 2 zyrtecs daily, in addition to my daily Flonase. I try to not use the Zyrtec very much honestly because I very rarely get the symptoms it treats- itchiness and runniness. Instead, as I mentioned, I get swelling and inflammation. I've lined up a consult with a different allergist for mid July. I'm bringing my skin testing results with me, and am going to request another intradermal test. My last test was march 2012. I'm concerned about a couple things:
1.) that my maintanence dose is too low to be effective. They decided to keep me at the last dose I didn't react to, so I never reached the last serum bottles for a few things.
2.) that I've developed new allergies in addition to the ones I already have.
3.) that my dr's frequent use of steroid bursts on me when my symptoms were extreme and debilitating (probably once a month that last few months) has somehow affected my shots effectiveness. My allergist says this isn't so.