It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alternative Medicine Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2003, 06:03 PM   #1

summer603 HB User
Post Hormone Imbalance - herbs?

I'm almost absolutely positive that I have a hormone imbalance. I had every intention of scheduling a doctor's appointment so that I could be given something to fix it, but I've been having some doubts.. I know that people with hormone imbalances are usually given birth control pills, but I don't really feel comfortable with taking that because of the possible side effects. Anyway, what I'm trying to get at is - has anyone used herbs to help with their hormone imbalance? What type of herb(s) did you use? And, how well did it work for you (including how quickly you saw results)? Please respond! Thanks.

Old 11-05-2003, 09:51 AM   #2

heloisahelena HB User
I didn´t want to take birth control pills for hormone imbalance either, so I´ve been taking Vitex and primrose oil for about 2 years. This combination had a great effect on my period (started to be regular) and on the intensity of menstrual flow. Vitex is also good on hyperprolactinemy cases.
The thing is that it took me about 6 months to see these good results, so you have to be persistent!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-06-2003, 10:35 AM   #3

summer603 HB User
Elizabeth2nd - Soo.. with homeopathy you're given a special remedy made just for you, and do you take the "mixture" just once? Or what? And, about how much does this cost? Sorry, I'm just trying to understand the whole idea of it. I've only heard the word "homeopathy" here and there a few times - other than that I know nothing about it.

heloisahelena - Does Vitex just contain Chaste Tree? I was trying to find the ingredients, and that's about all that I saw. Is there any other herb in there? And, do you take Primrose oil in capsule form?