It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alternative Medicine Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2005, 07:07 PM   #1
(female)

Shakespeare HB User
Question New Here..Help for Constipation Needed Badly

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the Alternative Medecine Board but not new to the idea of using organics whenever I can.

I have a pretty bad back injury that has left me in cronic pain for the last five years. Because of this I take a lot of different medications to control everything from muscle spasms, nerve damage pain and just good old fashioned pain.

My newest medication, coupled with all the others has left me with severe and painful constipation. I cannot take the regular kind of laxatives as they cause me more stomach pain and do not work well with my meds.

I feel I am doing enough damage to my body by putting all the medicines in it so I would really like to find an alternative to laxatives that will work all the time and will not hurt me further.

I am already a fan of green tea and will be in a position to make some drastic diet changes very soon.

Anyone with any ideas on wnat I can use to relieve this problem? My Doctor told me to eat apples every day along with a high fibre cereal. I already do this faithfully but the problem is getting worse, not better. I also drink LOTS of water already because my new med dries me out a lot.

This thing is getting serious, because of all the straining I am beginning to get fissures and hemerhoids. I never had these even with both of my children! So you can understand why I REALLY need help.