It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2006, 05:29 PM   #1
(male)

Tate22 HB User
Thank God I found you guys (RANT!)

Hello, I'm Tate.

I'm 24 years old and one caregiver for my grandmother who has alzheimer's disease.

Since we come from a really small family, it's just me and my mother.
This is her mother who has AD.

I've been caring for her with my mom for about 2 years. And some days are better than others.

Today has just been awful.

I was stressed from last night's episode, got little to no sleep, and was woken with bad news from a different side of my family very early.

Then I had to take care of her all the way up until now - 8:00 pm.

Running on about 3 hours of sleep and trying to handle an AD patient is a task for anyone. Don't recommend it.

As I was walking up the stairs - I realized that I should look online for a forum and I found you guys. In the 2 years that I've been doing this - the idea never crossed my mind, strangely.

My grandmother is a lovely woman and my memories of her when she was well are extremely special to me. She was a top of the line grandma.
I'm also extremely close to my own mother and I would do anything to help her through this time. She's determined, concretetly, not to place her mother in a care facility until she's exercised every other possible option.

My nerves are shot today though. I've looked for her purse (which she hides all over the house) at least 12 times. In two instances, I had to look for it about six or seven minutes after I last found it. Frustrating. I wish I could burn the purse.

But what's getting to me is her confusion. It's impossible to explain the most rational things to her. Some days this is better than others, but today is one of those days where she is angry and argumentive and restless.