It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2006, 05:54 AM   #1
(male)

maxsteel186 HB User
all in the family?

My gran has alzheimer's disease. its upsetting because although she still knows who her granchildren are, she can forget things who wanted tea etc. my question is, is alzheimer's disease hereditary?

Old 11-25-2006, 10:58 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

Beginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB UserBeginning HB User
Re: all in the family?

First, I'm not a doctor so you should check with your family physician. As I understand it, there may be a hereditary connection just like heart disease, high cholesterol and other health factors. The more relatives you have with the disease, the more chance of developing it. HOWEVER, there are many other factors. The chance of developing it increases with age. There are all kinds of statistics on the internet as to the high number of people age 85+ who have the disease. Second, the profile for early-onset Alzheimers' cases (defined as before age 65) is different, and shows a much stronger genetic linkage.

Information is constantly being reported on possible risk factors. Keep in mind that books may report on info that is 2+ years old, due to the lead time for writing, editing, publishing and distribution. You will find additional, current info on the AD websites.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-16-2006, 11:31 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

mim HB Usermim HB Usermim HB Usermim HB Usermim HB Usermim HB Usermim HB User