It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2007, 12:26 PM   #1
(female)

Jess22 HB User
still hangin everyone

Hi All my buddies, Welcome Connie I too know what you are going through as does everyone and here you will find strength. My son found this board for me at a very devastating time and it has truly pulled me through some rough times. I dont get to come as often as I would like (not a big computer buff) by trade I am a finance rep. so I computer all day long. Since bringing mother home from the NH we have had a few bad nights, once home I realized her days and nights were mixed up so that has taken some diligence on my part!! WHEW!!! also she has had a few days of 24hours straight without sleep and some times of trying to "go home" other than that all is going well. I miss working since I am so hyper but I have thrown myself into her care and the finishing of this house project so that is keeping my energy level normal. lol She is calling me mommy now and I dont tell her I am her mommy but I just answer her and go along. She is so much more comfortable it seems but she is quickly progressing I also think. The meds are finally getting right (I hope ) and she is mostly going to bed about 8;30 and sleeping through the night. I think her swallowing is getting harder and her capacity to understand instructions are almost none. I find if I tap on her foot she will raise it otherwise forget it I could talk all day. She is much more quiet and unresponsive most days. Then all of a sudden they will come alive like an untamed lion and surprise you so it's all a yo yo. I start a support group on Monday and this time around Im getting out more letting others help more and I feel less stressed with not working. I am however keeping my options open and realizing that if it becomes unbearable like before I wil