It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-25-2007, 12:27 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

roz5 HB User
How is Dementia Diagnosed?

I am new to this message board - -
My mother and I were discussing my father's behavior as of late. We both suspect dementia. My mother's friend (who is a psychic 'reader'...and 100% accurat in all that she 'sees') told my mother that my father has early onset of dementia. My father is not aware of this yet, and I am wondering how dementia is diagnosed. My family has noticed my dad's "odd behavior" and have begun to wonder. Should we be getting an official diagnosis from his PCP? Are there tests to check for dementia?
My thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this for me.

The following user gives a hug of support to roz5:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
The Following User Says Thank You to roz5 For This Useful Post:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
Old 02-25-2007, 11:28 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

angel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB Userangel_bear HB User
Re: How is Dementia Diagnosed?

First and foremost, he needs to see a doctor to rule out anything else, such a thyroid deficiency, Vitamin deficiencies and other things. You can't just start making such assumptions without crossing off the 'fixable' things. If the doctor suspects one of the dementia's, he will perform a MINI MENTAL, I have written this out before, but here it is again:

Quote:
.... each person is unique and gives different answers ... this is pretty much the basics: