It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-10-2007, 12:35 AM   #1
(female)

sunshine2007 HB User
is physical pain associated alzheimer

Hi this is my first time here and i found this forum to be very helpful. My grandmother has had alzheimer's diease for over a decade, maybe 15 years or more. For the past 3 years she's been on a feeding tube because she couldn't eat on her own, so her hands are belted down on the side so that she doesn't take the feeding tube and the I.V. out. However, I was wondering what if she has an itch or something. How would she be able to let us know because she lost her speech many years ago. Recently, she was diagnosed with cancer in the uterus and my mom and aunt didn't want her to go through surgery because she is almost 80 years old. But what concerns me the most is, can people with alzheimer feel physical pain and are they sensitive to touch? If anyone can help with my questions, that'll be awesome. many Thanks

The following user gives a hug of support to sunshine2007:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
The Following User Says Thank You to sunshine2007 For This Useful Post:
luyingjie (01-24-2012)
Old 08-10-2007, 10:46 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: is physical pain associated alzheimer

Speaking from my own experience with my Mom, YES, an Alzheimer patient can and does feel pain.

Mom had an infection in one eye while I was still living with her - at first I had noticed the redness and asked if it hurt, or itched, and she said no. Then, a few minutes before the doctor's office closed, she said it hurts very badly - luckily I was able to get a prescription phoned in and pick up drops.