It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-28-2008, 03:30 AM   #1
(female)

Carolch1660 HB User
Husband with Alzheimer's

Hi, I'm new to this so bear with me. My husband of 54 years was diagnosed with Alzheimers about two years ago but the early onset was quite a while before that when he kept goofing up the checkbook. He was a controller for a Fortune 500 company and retired after 30 years so not being able to handle the checkbook should have sent up warning flags.
Now from what I can read about the various stages he's about 5 1/2. Needs help bathing and dressing but is still quite mobile and communicative though some of the stuff he thinks he sees is delusional.
What I would like to have some input on is how to handle him when he gets ugly which happens every so often but not daily. I still work 3 days a week to help keep my sanity and I have a neigbor who keeps a close eye on him. We have two daughters who live in the area about 40 minutes away. The oldest one teaches and comes over one day a week during the summer and takes him out, I also take him to the Adult Day Care Center when possible one day. He often fights me on this as they are locked in the room, but they really like him and it shows.
Is there more that I can do that I haven't thought of? I have power of attorney and that helps as his signature is no longer legible. I would like to keep him home as long as possible but when he has a restless night and I have to work the next day that is difficult. Both of us are in our 70's and so far my health has been pretty good,
I'd love any feed back or experience that anyone can share with me. Carol

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-28-2008, 03:37 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)