It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2008, 12:25 PM   #1
(female)

mentalmum08 HB User
Question Wont sleep - help

This is my first time. My mother is being weaned off aricept. She is also taking Paroxitine. She wont sleep, fights it for as long as she can. Walks around the house then collapses exhausted. Our GP wont give her a sedative. My sis-in-law has spoken to their family doctor and it's their policy to prescribel sedatives. I feel I cant menton this without adverse consequences. Any suggestions?

Old 07-12-2008, 01:02 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Martha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB UserMartha H HB User
Re: Wont sleep - help

If your mother lives with you and you are the person being affected by her being awake all night, you MUST mention it! It is standard practice here to prescribe a mild sleeping pill for AD sufferers with night wandering (sundowning). In fact maybe you can get something over the counter (prescription free).

We have quite a few different ones here that you can buy on your own. Natural alternative is baldrian tea or tablets but that takes quite some time to kick in like all herbal remedies. Good luck!

Do talk to your Mom's doctor again. It isn't doing anyone any good to keep her from getting a good night's sleeps, never mind YOU!

Martha

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 07-12-2008, 03:20 PM   #3
Facilitator
(female)

Titchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB UserTitchou HB User

I don't know what's it's called over there but benedryl, which is an antihistamine, is used in Tylenol PM, a pain med with a sleep aid, is OTC here.