It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2008, 07:21 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

BlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB UserBlueAtlas HB User
Any suggestions for preparing for mother-in-law?

Hi everyone.

This is my first time on this board. I'm usually over on the back board. My mother-in-law is coming to live with us, probably on or about October 11. She's declining mentally and needs to be closer to people who love her. She was remarried 1 1/2 years ago to another 80something out in Arizona, where she lives. Her new husband's daughter has decided that they need to get divorced! Both of them are failing at this point, and I think the daughter is afraid we're going to try to make him help pay for her to go to the next level where they live. (No, not even on our radar!) They're in independent living. She needs to move on to assisted living or a memory unit, but he doesn't. Etc., etc., etc. They aren't getting along, she argues with him about taking her meds and everything else in the world, and they both want her out of there. She's eager to come out here and be with us.

He told us that the move from her house to the independent living facility was very hard on her. It was disorienting and he saw her decline even more in the weeks after that move. I'm fixing up a room here for her and trying to make it as comfortable, cheery, and welcoming as I can. My husband has a list of things I want him to be sure to bring back with them when he picks her up, little things like her alarm clock, her own pillow, whatever little things are on her night stand and dresser, a few pictures from her walls --- things that will be familiar to her.