It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Alzheimer's Disease & Dementia Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2008, 08:05 AM   #1
(female)

newbie5 HB User
Just needing to vent

Hello! This is my first time posting on this board. The story is long so I won't go into too much detail. My mom is currently in the hospital with pneumonia. This is her second hospital stay in a month. She has a history of COPD, emphysema, mini strokes, congestive heart failure, high blood pressure, diabetes. She had been doing pretty well considering~living in a retirement home, off oxygen, playing euchre, bingo, socializing, quit smoking 10 years ago, etc. I would say within the last few months my sister and I noticed her repeating the same sentences in the same conversation or calling us back and repeating the last conversation. Well, her health went downhill pretty fast. I went to check on her and her apartment reeked of smoke. Yes, she had taken up smoking again! She became a chain-smoking shut-in that was too weak to go downstairs to check her mail. We're not sure now if her memory and confusion is a form of dementia or lack of oxygen from smoking. We are very doubtful that she will be safe living by herself anymore. Now the decisions of assisted living vs. nursing home vs. living with me. I guess I am writing this because I am so confused, sad, etc. Last night when I saw my mom roll over for the young male nurse to empty her bed pan and wipe her, it was about all I could take. I wanted to scream at him to stop and at her to be embarrassed, to show some idignation that this was happening, to not just give her humilty up like that! We have a small house, both work full time, have a teenager in the home, but I feel I owe it to her to try to take care of her, if I can. Then again, I don't know if I have it in me. I don't kow if she would be happy with me, or if she would be happier with p